Home > April 2011 Posts > Getting Schooled

Getting Schooled


My son is only seven months old, so my worry is not imminently present yet, but I have to say that the thought of him attending school in a few years is not a subject I am particularly fond of. My concerns are not unfounded, I promise.

I had fleeting concerns before, but I didn’t really start thinking about the matter until my husband and I engaged in a random conversation about our years in grade school. I recalled my years attending school in Atlanta, and how I was grateful that I had a wide variety of teachers from different backgrounds and cultures. This allowed my young mind to learn and grow in many different directions.

When I was twelve, however, my parents made the decision to move our family of four to the suburbs. This was a decision made after several “non family friendly” events occurred – one being a prophylactic found mixed in with our laundry after using our apartment’s shared laundry facilities. That was the last straw for my parents when making the decision to leave our beloved city.

We moved a rough thirty minutes outside of Atlanta, but it might as well have been a different country. Everyone lived in a subdivision with regurgitated cookie cutter houses, was god fearing, and worshipped Sunday football. Of course, not everyone fit into this mold, but I’m pretty certain the preceding comprised the majority. The schools were not exempt from this trend.

Now, I had some pretty great teachers while residing in suburbia. Of this, there is no doubt. However, there lacked variation. I cannot recall a single teacher throughout my 6 years of education in two greater Atlanta area schools that did not appear to hail from similar backgrounds – white European ancestry, Christian, middle class. My husband had a comparable experience.

I ask, where is the fun in this? I am a firm believer that our children’s world education should not only be taught via text books, but from the mouths and guidance of the people of the world.

Categories: April 2011 Posts
  1. prdtabwt
    April 13, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    so your saying lost condums can not be found in the laundry in the city.hmm maby thats why your beloved city is overcrowed multiculture crime.

    • S.C.Ragan
      April 13, 2011 at 9:07 pm

      Apparently you are set on making negative comments on every post I have. I responded to one, but just wanted to let you know that I don’t feel it necessary to respond to your others as you are certainly not making any valid points or voicing any important concerns – you just seem to have some sort of vendetta, and a poorly worded one at that. Alas, it is a free country though and we are entitled to free speech, so I approved your comments to be seen by all.

  2. lindsay
    April 13, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    wow. how does someone who has some of the worst grammar possible even be on a writing site? condum? maby? your? Come on- invest in a dictionary and get off this site. weirdo.

  3. prdtabewht
    April 17, 2011 at 1:17 am

    even be thats some dang good grammer.

  4. prdtabewht
    April 17, 2011 at 1:21 am

    sorry i miss read were the condum was found. but that does not change the overcroweding of multiculture crime.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

