Home > April 2011 Posts > Tunnel Vision

Tunnel Vision


I am not a big fan of labeling ourselves as one thing or another. When we attach labels to our personas, i.e. Republican, Democrat, Feminist, we essentially draw a line between ourselves and others.

I understand the draw towards classifying ourselves – It gives us a feeling of identity and common interest with those who share our viewpoints. However, when we allocate ourselves we tend to focus on only certain ideals and beliefs, and disregard anything that doesn’t “ring true”. In essence we inflict upon ourselves a sort of tunnel vision. No one drives well when they only look straight ahead, right?

Don’t typecast yourself. Be bold with your opinions, but also allow yourself to celebrate the opinions of others! When we attach labels, we often cause ourselves to be unapproachable by anyone outside our group, thus limiting the potential of our personal growth.

Categories: April 2011 Posts
  1. April 10, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    Good Sunday! It’s Andi here, from Double Dose of Special. I hate to comment on an unrelated post, but I didn’t see a better place. I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for taking the time to comment on my guest post on Our Typical Life. I appreciate that you were willing to share your thoughts with me, and that my post touched you in some small way. Please come over and visit me on my blog anytime.

    http://www.doubledoseofspecial.com

  2. S.C.Ragan
    April 11, 2011 at 9:56 am

    I really enjoyed your guest post, and will certainly be following your posts in the future! Thank you for sharing with us 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

